Scolari Confirms Chelsea Appointment

From SkySports:

Portugal coach Luiz Felipe Scolari will become the new Chelsea manager on 1st July.

Scolari, who is currently masterminding Portugal’s Euro 2008 challenge, has accepted an offer to replace Avram Grant at Stamford Bridge.

Chelsea have confirmed that the Brazilian World-Cup winning coach will take charge after the European Championship.

“Chelsea Football Club is delighted to confirm that Luiz Felipe Scolari will be the club’s new manager from July 1, 200,” read a club statement.

“Felipe has great qualities. He is one of the world’s top coaches with a record of success at country and club level, he gets the best out of a talented squad of players and his ambitions and expectations match ours.

“He was the outstanding choice.

“Out of respect for his current role as Head Coach of the Portuguese national team, and to ensure minimum disruption to this work, there will be no further comment from Chelsea FC nor from Felipe about his new role until his employment with us commences.”

 

4 Responses

  1. chelseadenise,

    What’s your opinion on this appointment?

  2. Obviously its begging for me to write something, lol. Watch this space.

  3. There we go then…….finally the media circus can relax around who we’ll appoint as manager and go onto who the next player is we’re gonna sign.

    I have to admit, when I heard I wasnt doing cartwheels, It was more of a shrug of the shoulders and I just carried on with what I was doing. I just hope its worth it. His lack of club football mangement at the top level worries me slightly, he’s spent the past decade at International level and you’d think he’d be looking to take it easy in his latter years. He’ll not get a minute in the Chelsea goldfish bowl.

  4. I haven’t been following European football for a very long time and I’m American so all my news comes from the Internet, so I may have some facts mixed up.

    However, I thought that I read Scolari turned down the English national team job after the ’06 World Cup because he didn’t want the media attention that comes with that job. It seems to me that the Chelsea job is under the media microscope as much as, or more than, the England job.

    I don’t know how much money he makes as the Portugal manager, but perhaps Roman’s money was talking to him?

Leave a Reply

