Drogba In Bother?

Well Didier Drogba just wouldn’t be Didier Drogba unless his mouth was causing controversy would he? This time it’s the Ivorian international’s autobiography that’s under scrutiny rather than his triple-salko though.

You see, ironically, after a season where I’ve seen more life in a tramps vest, culminating in a Champions League final where my nan’s handbag would do more damage than anything Drogba had to offer, the Ivory Coast and Chelsea striker suggested he should have ‘punched’ Nemanja Vidic. I mean, I suppose the way he sees it is he might as well have been hung for a sheep than a lamb, but unfortunately, the FA probably don’t have the same take on it.

In his book, the extracts from which will no doubt fill many column inches in the coming days, Drogba says “I have seen the match on video and I believe I should not have been sent off with three minutes to go. If I had punched him, I would have understood. Now I wish I had.”

All very professional obviously and apparently earning him major slaps on the back from some quarters. Personally though, with memories of that night in Moscow refusing to go away, I’ve no more desire to defend him now than I did then and I certainly haven’t got to a point where his sending off and our subsequent defeat on penalties, makes me laugh.

So anyway the boys at the FA, who won’t be impressed by the comments, are going to have a look and decide whether anything he has said brings the game into disrepute, with a spokesman stating “We are aware of the comments and will be examining them in their proper context.” They won’t apparently be looking at the incident in the same way they viewed comments from Keane in 2002, when his autobiography – and the confession relating to Alf Inge Haaland’s injury – resulted in the Manchester United captain serving a 5 game ban. I think that’s fair enough, seeing as Drogba’s is all talk about what he wishes he’d done and the Keane incident actually happened, so the two aren’t really comparable.

But whatever the FA decide (and if he gets a ban he’s got only himself to blame), the one thing Chelsea can be certain of is that they can work their arses off as hard as they like to turn their negative image around but as long as players like Drogba are around, it’ll be an uphill battle.

Leave a Reply

