Resourceful Scolari Wants More English Players

Luiz Felipe Scolari has got his eye on increasing Chelsea’s English contingent.

Whilst he’s happy with the players he’s got already, Scolari has made it clear he plans to integrate more English players into the side and isn’t ruling out the idea of buying them rather than bringing them through the ranks.

Chelsea already have English talent like John Terry, Frank Lampard, Joe Cole, Ashley Cole and the lesser used Wayne Bridge in the first-team and Scolari suggests he plans to add to that contingent, saying “The players I have at the moment are good, but in the future I will look for more.  I know the English players and I want more English players in my team. I want to win in England.”

Scolari also hasn’t ruled out the possibility of delving into January’s transfer market although by the sounds of it seems to be quite resourceful when it comes to managing the squad available to him. He says “In training every week, one time in the week, I rotate the players – midfielders up front, left-back at right-back – because maybe one time in the season we need to change things around.”

How refreshing is that? Where our last couple of managers would bemoan our injuries and even use them to excuse defeat, Scolari neither seems to demand money hand over fist for more and more squad players to sit around waiting for their 20 minutes a season, nor does he believe the odd injury is a good enough reason not to win. The Chelsea boss says “I am a democratic manager and I listen to my players. I know what they need and what they want – I am part of this group.  They have a mix of styles. If they do what we talk about in training then they are a very professional team. ”

Clearly didn’t do what they were told before the Liverpool game then eh?

Leave a comment